Picture Accessibility for Children with CVI

In my work with children, I am often asked about the accessibility of pictures, icons and line drawings as communication systems for children. I especially struggle to be an effective voice around accessibility when my children with CVI look towards pictures but never use central vision to actually “see” and “understand” those pictures. I try to support my opinions with inservice simulations about peripheral looking, as it only provides visual information about general color and general shape. To understand objects, pictures, ions and line drawings, the child must look directly at the image using central vision and shift to the picture’s elements to understand it. At MIT, there are several labs that study various aspects of visual processing. I found this book and ordered it on Amazon for $10. I am finding it so helpful!

Looking into Pictures: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Pictorial Space by Heiko Hecht

Leave a Reply

