Direct Assessment: Color Preference and More…

When I want to do the Christine Roman-Lantzy CVI Range (Christine Roman-Lantzy 2007) assessment for a child, I end up carrying so many items especially if I don’t know the child’s visual functioning.

The assessment has three parts: parent interview, observation and direct assessment using the CVI Range. After the parent interview and observation, I want to have everything on hand for the direct assessment. For color, I used to carry several sizes of like items such as 6 colors of pom-poms or 6 colors of balls. My bag was huge!

Now I just carry a great assortment of fabrics. As Halloween approaches, I found fabrics of all the colors, all of which have a shiny side and a duller colored side. I can now assess:

  • The child’s reactions to color (color characteristic).
  • The child’s reaction to shiny versus duller (need for movement).
  • The child’s best distance (present at different distances).
  • The child’s need for increased fabric size to reduce complexity (what size fabric presentation does the child need before looking).
  • The child’s need for light (does the child need me to add another light shining on the fabric to draw visual attention).
  • The child’s need for movement (does the child need me to move the fabric to draw visual attention).
  • The child’s latency for looking.
  • The child’s better visual field.
  • The time and quality of reaching to play with my fabric (latency and visual motor characteristics.

It’s Halloween at the fabric store! Lighten your load and have a great set of assessment materials!

Leave a Reply

