Please wait! I can do it!

Wait time or allowing extra response time is so important for children with CVI due to the characteristic of Latency. The world can be such a fast moving place that children never have the opportunity to visually locate anything.

The educational team including the parents felt that six year old Amy did not understand her name.  I was able to take a video of Amy to prove that wait time must be allowed so she can hear her name then turn to locate the person calling her. I stood six feet away on her right side and called her name.

It appeared as if this little child was totally unaware of my interaction.

I called again.

It took Amy 32 seconds to turn towards me but she was still looking only using peripheral viewing.  (I want central viewing because this is the only way a child sees details or my face.  Peripheral viewing only gives the child a general shape, movement and color.)

Eight seconds later, Amy was able to look using her central vision! She continued to look at me for 9 more seconds.

I love capturing moments like this to share. A video is clear evidence of Amy’s skills. Now the team including parents, consistently give little Amy the time she needs. Because Amy is building this skill, 8 months later she turns to find people who call her name within 5 seconds at 9+ feet on the left and right!  I even see her tracking people moving in the room.  Fantastic and very exciting!  These improvements are happening within many characteristics: Latency, Visual Fields, Distance and Movement.

If wait time is not allowed for children with CVI, they will not build skills and begin to improve vision use.

Leave a Reply

